Two Sicks Kids, One Tired Nanny

It’s only Thursday but it feels like it should have been the end of the week yesterday. Why? I hear you ask. Well, I’ve had two sick kids to look after.

It started on Tuesday night. First Mini was up vomiting and then Freddie joined her on Wednesday morning. They were both sick for about 24 hours and couldn’t keep anything down. Poor little things. I felt so sorry for them.

Mini was not too bad just sitting on the sofa watching endless Peppa Pigs and Paw Patrols. She’s also at the age where she just about knows when she’s going to vomit. Admittedly it’s only about half a second in advance but it’s usually just enough time to get a bowl in front of her.

My littlest charge, Freddie, is only 10 months so the television doesn’t interest him yet. It has been hard to keep him entertained these past two days.

Anyone who has experience with a puking baby knows they kind of find it funny when the sick comes out. For some reason, it amuses them and they decide to put their hands in it to feel the texture and “splash”. It’s so gross. Even thinking about it makes me nauseous.

This is definitely the worst part of my job. It’s just so horrible to see them unwell. I’ve spent hours just staring at them both wishing they will feel better again soon. Freddie has been even more cuddly than normal. Which is the only slightly good point because I do feel like I love that boy already. He really is such a sweetheart.

Anyway, they are both on the mend now. Kids bounce back really easily. At supper tonight they both ate well. They were in bed early and sound asleep by 6.50pm. Result for Nanny Penny!

At 7pm India, the children’s Mum, came home. She was so sweet that I’ve had to deal with them like that the last two days.

“Oh, Penny, daaahling! You must be exhausted. How many loads of washing have you done?”

“Only five,” I replied.

She looked totally shocked. I’m not 100% sure she knows which one the washing machine is. On Tuesday night, Mini was sick in her bed. The children’s bedrooms are both up on the top floor with mine and so I was up as well as India. I stripped Mini’s bed and put clean sheets on whilst India comforted Mini. When Mini was settled back asleep India said she’d take the sheets downstairs.

I’m not 100% sure she knows which one the washing machine is. On Tuesday night, Mini was sick in her bed. The children’s bedrooms are both up on the top floor with mine and so I was up as well as India. I stripped Mini’s bed and put clean sheets on whilst India comforted Mini. When Mini was settled back asleep India said she’d take the sheets downstairs.

In the morning, I stumbled downstairs half asleep making a direct line to the coffee machine. Mini had been up a further two times puking. I saw that India had indeed brought the sheets down.

What I also saw was that she hadn’t put them in the washing machine in the utility room.

She had put them next to the dishwasher in the kitchen!

 

Leave a Reply

